The economic advice

Finance Blog

UN Commission recognized part of the Sea of ​​Okhotsk Russian continental shelf

  • Home
  • Miscellaneous
  • UN Commission recognized part of the Sea of ​​Okhotsk Russian continental shelf

The UN Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf satisfied Russia’s bid for inclusion in the composition of its continental shelf enclave of 52 thousand. Square kilometers, located in the middle part of the Okhotsk Sea. The final decision of the Commission to the Russian Minister of Natural Resources Sergey Donskoy declared UN Legal Counsel Miguel de Serpa Soares.
In an interview with UN Radio minister said that the inclusion of an enclave of Okhotsk in the Russian shelf means that Russia now has exclusive rights to the resources of the subsoil and seabed. This decision establishes Russian jurisdiction over the territory of the enclave in the part of the requirements for fishing, safety, environmental protection.

“There will now be fully used and distributed Russian laws on turnover of biological resources for the use of natural resources, including the seabed, ie shelf. Including will be subject to the laws of transport, – explained the head of the Ministry of Natural Resources. – In general, the whole Russia will pursue its policy in the Okhotsk Sea are on the shelf. ”

“After a decade of work, after the cost and effort that have been made by all experts who worked on the rationale for the application of the additional information obtained since 2001, now we can celebrate a positive result,” – said Sergey Donskoy.
In 2001, Russia submitted a general application for recognition of the continental shelf of the Russian territory: it touches both the Sea of ​​Okhotsk and the Arctic part. In 2004 it was decided to divide these applications. According to Sergei Donskoi, in the second half of this year, Russia intends to submit an application to the Commission and to the Arctic.

The Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf was established in accordance with the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea, adopted in 1982. It consists of 21 experts who are specialists in the field of geology, geophysics or hydrography. Experts are elected for five years.

The Commission shall examine the application submitted by coastal States concerning the outer limits of the continental shelf in areas where those limits extend beyond 200 nautical miles. When applying the State can independently choose those listed in the Convention criteria by which to define the boundaries of its continental shelf.

The Commission shall make recommendations on these applications. Limits of the shelf established by a coastal State on the basis of these recommendations shall be final and binding on all.


View all posts by